Homepage of the

First IEEE International Workshop on Augmented Reality

Nov. 1, 1998
San Francisco, CA (USA)


Co-sponsored by the [IEEE CS Logo] IEEE Computer Society:
Task Force on Human Centered Information Systems
Task Force on Wearable Information Systems.

In cooperation with ACM SIGCHI and SIGGRAPH SIGGRAPH.

In cooperation with EUROGRAPHICS

Scope of this Workshop

The Technical Workshop Program

The Proceedings of IWAR'98 are available from A.K.Peters: "Augmented Reality -Placing Artificial Objects in Real Scenes".


The workshop was one day long and was held on Sunday, November 1, 1998. It was be divided into paper sessions where researchers report their latest concepts, progress, and results, and sessions where short positional statements trigger discussions about the future path of AR technology.

In order to provide a convenient opportunity to gather many relevant participants, this workshop was held in conjunction with UIST '98 in San Francisco.

The location of the workshop was at the Fairmont Hotel in the Venetian Room.


Advance registration received before: October 9, 98
Camera ready papers received by: October 15, 98 (see guidelines)
Workshop: November 1, 98

Conference Chair:

David Mizell
The Boeing Company
P.O. Box 3707 MS 7L-48
Seattle, WA 98124-2207
phone: 425-865-2705
fax: 425-865-2965
email: david.mizell@boeing.com

Organizing Committee:

Gudrun Klinker
ZGDV / FhG-IGD Darmstadt
Fraunhofer Project for Augmented Reality at ZGDV
Arabellastr. 17 (ECRC)
D-81925 Munich (Germany)
phone: ++49 89-92699-117
fax: ++49-89-92699-170
email: klinker@igd.fhg.de
Reinhold Behringer
Rockwell Science Center
1049 Camino Dos Rios
Thousand Oaks, CA 91360 (USA)
phone: 805-373-4435
fax: 805-373-4862
email: reinhold@rsc.rockwell.com

Program Committee:

The submissions to the workshop have been reviewed by the following program committee (listed in alphabetical order):

Ron Azuma HRL Laboratories, USA azuma@HRL.com
Tom Caudell University of New Mexico, USA tpc@eece.unm.edu
Steve Feiner Columbia University, USA feiner@cs.columbia.edu
Eric Foxlin Intersense Inc., USA ericf@isense.com
Michitaka Hirose University of Tokyo, Japan hirose@ihl.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Adam Janin University of California at Berkeley, USA janin@cs.berkeley.edu
Stephane Lavallee   Faculté de médecine de Grenoble, France stephane.lavallee@imag.fr
Blair MacIntyre Georgia Institute of Technology bm@cs.columbia.edu
Paul Milgram University of Toronto, Canada milgram@mie.utoronto.ca
Ulrich Neumann University of Southern California, USA uneumann@usc.edu
Jannick Rolland University of Central Florida, USA rolland@creol.ucf.edu
Andrei State University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA andrei@cs.unc.edu


The Rockwell Science Center
[Fraunhofer Society, ZGDV Logo]
Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics (IGD-ZGDV)
The Boeing Company

Also visit the homepages of the following relates sites: